A Very Pinterest Thanksgiving

3 Nov

This year we are doing Thanksgiving early as my soon to be sister in law works in retail, and she will have to work on black Friday and thus be unavailable to come down for Thanksgiving. For my portion of the meal I am making one classic recipe, and three pinterest finds.

Green Bean Casserole has always been my favorite holiday dish.  I was  shocked to find a couple years ago that it did not make the standard rotation in my fiance’s family Thanksgiving.  For my first Thanksgiving with the Bauer’s, I made my favorite dish and introduced it to their normal Thanksgiving line up. Luckily for me, they either loved the casserole, or they love me, because it has now become a Bauer Thanksgiving staple as well. So of course I will be making this dish using the standard, and timeless Campbells recipe. Now I don’t know about you all, but I ignore the part of the recipe that says “sprinkle with remaining onions” I coat the entire top of the casserole in the crispy onions and bake until they are golden brown.

My first new dish is Ruth’s Chris Sweet Potato Casserole that I pinned on pinterest a while back.  Sweet Potatoes and Yams are my second favorite holiday dish, and this one looks especially delicious!

As an appetizer I made this Pumpkin Fluff dip that I will be serving with graham crackers. This dip was super easy, quick to make, and tastes just like pumpkin pie. The pumpkin pie spice is crucial to get this effect, otherwise it just tastes like bland pumpkin whip. You may like bland pumpkin whip, but I was going for a “pumpkin pie dip” effect, and with the pumpkin pie spice I got this taste exactly.  I cannot wait to serve this tomorrow!

Finally, for desert I am currently making these Pecan Pie Bars. They look and smell delicious, and I cannot wait to dig into them tomorrow.

I am so excited to be celebrating Thanksgiving with Chris and his family, and so glad that we can incorporate some of my favorite traditions with their family traditions. It will be a fun, love and pinterest filled Thanksgiving at the Bauer’s. Check back for pictures!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

